Seed Views

Seed View for June 12th, 2011

20110612-055546.jpg

This is a view of my current favorite ball cap.  I’m almost 39 years old and I have a favorite hat.  It comfortably form fits my rapidly balding head better than any other hat in my collection.  Is there a problem with that?

I don’t have a real allegiance to the San Diego Padres.  I’m a Yankees fan, but I lived in San Diego for four years back in the late 1990s and do feel a bit of a connection.  Games at the Murph were easy to see back then.  My most vivid memory was when the Cardinals came to town in June 1998.  My friends and I went to a game just to see Mark McGwire during his androstenedione-fueled home-run bender of a season.  He hit a homer in the 8th inning and three-quarters of the stadium emptied out.  I was also sprinting out of the exit to beat traffic.

I loved the uniforms they wore with these hats back in the late 1970s and early 1980s.  It reminds me of Dave Winfield, Kurt Bevacqua, Ozzie Smith, Randy Jones, Tony Gwynn, the San Diego Chicken, and Steve Garvey’s hairy Popeye-like forearms.

Honestly, the hat is ugly as shit.  It’s brown and yellow with a couple orange stripes, so it conveniently clashes with any outfit I have on.  When I was a little kid, I used to call this the “pee and poop” hat.  Figure it out.    Some things, like Steve Garvey’s forearms, are just so ugly, they’re beautiful.

Happy Birthday to my wife.  She’s not ugly.

Leave a Reply

